17
Oct
06

Picking a distro

As I said in my first post, I’m not a Linux guy. This whole “picking a distro” is a new world for me. Where to begin? Well working with our IT department, we settled on RedHat Enterprise (I’m sure the open source folks will give me a hard time for this pick), but since we have Dell Servers, we went with what seems to fit our hardware the best. My first task will be to get RedHat up and running this week. We’ll be running it on an old PowerEdge 2550 so we should be in good shape for anything to come.

I’m heading to the server room right now to get started. 🙂

2 Responses to “Picking a distro”


  1. October 18, 2006 at 3:39 am

    go get a copy of centos.org – it’s rehl without the bells and whistles, it’s free, and it’ll fit on one cd – 2.5 cents

  2. October 18, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks, getting RedHat Enterprise working on a Dell server was quite easy and since our IT group is on board, the simpliest way.


Comments are currently closed.

