17
Oct
06

RedHat installed, Mapserver next

Well that was easy enough once I got the correct RAID controller driver from Dell’s website. So we have RedHat installed and Apache seems to be working fine. It is quite late in the day so I’m heading home. Tomorrow I’ll be trying to get Mapserver installed. I see that I need to build Mapserver to get it working which shouldn’t be to hard, but most of the instructions seem to be fore RedHat 9, not RedHat Enterprise 4. I’m not sure what issues I might run into building on RHE4, but we’ll find out tomorrow.

6 Responses to “RedHat installed, Mapserver next”


  1. October 18, 2006 at 12:40 am

    Shouldn’t be too many. I run MapServer on RHEL4 quite a bit. Catch us on IRC on irc.freenode.net on channel #mapserver if you get hung up.

    Howard

  2. October 18, 2006 at 2:00 am

    The tricky bit is the extra dependencies… if you want reprojection support you have to first install proj4… if you want decent raster and multi-format vector support you have to first install gdal/ogr. My worst Mapserver install experience was actually on Red Hat Enterprise (about two years ago) because there was a period when the gd library dependency for Mapserver was gd2 while the default gd installed on Red Hat Enterprise was gd1. Of course, this was for a course, so I had to get all hackery in midst of the course to get the compile step finished (“don’t mind me, I’ll just type real fast for half an hour…”). Hopefully by now RHEL includes the key dependencies that Mapserver needs in the right versions by default.

  3. October 18, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    How does this dependency thing work. Trial and error or can you run some sort of script to tell you what you are missing?

  4. 4 Phil
    October 19, 2006 at 3:37 pm

    The dependency thing depends on how you install the software. If you build from source the configuration step will check for the dependencies and tell you which ones you need. If you’re installing from RPMs or other binary builds the installation software will tell you what dependencies are missing.

  5. October 19, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    OK, I think I see how this dependency thing works. Kinda of a pain, but there is some logic to it so I’ll be fine.

  6. October 20, 2006 at 5:29 am

    with a debian system it is simple:

    tar xfz proj.tar.gz
    cd proj/
    ./configure
    make
    sudo make install

    when a ‘configure’ step fails, install the corrosponding -dev package: i.e. for an error like
    fft include files missing!
    you can do:
    sudo aptitude install libfft3-dev

    when you are first starting it can be a PITA, but over the course of a couple compiles, you will have accumulated all the required libs and their header files.

    cheers,


Comments are currently closed.

