24
Oct
06

MapServer finally built

Boy, that was much more work that I anticipated. I’m envious of those who said that Debian would have been much easier, but I’m stuck on RedHat. I wonder if the lack of RedHat support might hurt implementation of open source GIS in the commercial world. Actually probably not as the smart move would be to hire an open source consultant with RedHat experience, but that hurts some of the cost benefits over proprietary GIS solutions.

OK, now that MapServer is up and running, it is on to PostgreSQL. Does anyone know if it would be better to just install the version of PostgreSQL that comes with RHEL, or grab the latest here.

7 Responses to “MapServer finally built”


  1. October 24, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    Congratulations. I remember how satisfying it was to finally have built MapServer myself for the first time. There are lots of threads of information you pull together that appear apply to your situation, and it makes you feel like you actually might know something when you get it to work.

    As for RHEL’s or your own Postgres, this will be a choice you’ll need to make for lots of things… use the system’s or build my own? One downside to using the systems is your admin might come along underneath you and upgrade it, causing your applications to possibly break if your additions (PostGIS) aren’t taken into account. I tend to build things myself for this reason, especially on systems where I’m not the admin.

    PostgreSQL+PostGIS is fairly straightforward to build yourself. You probably already installed Proj.4 and maybe GEOS. After getting those two dependencies, grab a copy of the database and build it. After that, follow PostGIS’s build instructions to build it out. There aren’t as many bits and pieces to the PostGIS story as there are to MapServer, and you’ll be able to apply the experience you learned there to this case.

    Howard

  2. October 26, 2006 at 6:08 am

    Word to Hobu since this decision to roll your own versus vendor support RPMs is going to be the biggest hassle. I generally like to go with RPMs from the project site for things I need to keep up to date and pray that the versions for dependencies match up. Some of the larger projects actually make RPMs for RHEL.
    I once went down the entire “compile everything from scratch route” and there was much pain and suffering as you run into conflicts between stuff installed in RPMs and the stuff you compile. The easiest way is to only use the versions supported by up2date. I think this might be the best route for you to choose right now. At least for the first run through building everything.

  3. October 26, 2006 at 3:32 pm

    Today I have to install mapserver and postgres in a RHEL ES 4.0

    Did you try the fedora core 4 RPM’S from http://mappinghacks.com/rpm/fedora/4/ ?

  4. October 26, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    No I found them AFTER I had it all “installed”. Let me know if you go that route and how it went.

  5. October 31, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    Finally I install the FGS Linux Installer[1] + Postgres from rhel.

    [1] http://mapserver.gis.umn.edu/download/current/

  6. October 31, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    I have to install libstdc++5 for the FGS Linux Installer


Comments are currently closed.

