13
Nov
06

Sidetracked

It never fails, you get something cool working and then you have to put out a fire. I would like to report that Mapserver and PostGIS are all working, but I can’t find time to play with them.

I just wanted to say that if you are new to Linux and compiling applications, my method of open source GIS is probably not the best way to go. After reading how simple it was for Dave Bouwman on Windows, I’m sorta thinking that I should have gone that route first to learn the products and then jump into the RHEL method.

I’m hoping that by Thanksgiving I can get back on the open source track again.

3 Responses to “Sidetracked”


  1. November 14, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    Hi,

    maybe you also want to try QGIS packaged with GRASS for Windows: http://blog.qgis.org/?q=node/35

    It comes with PostGIS and WMS support and should write out Mapserver mapfiles, too.

  2. November 20, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    That is a pretty good idea. I’ll give it a shot.

  3. 3 David
    November 20, 2006 at 7:01 pm

    Have you looked at the FGS installer? It is a great way to get MapServer installed on a linux box. It also has modules for PostGIS and other apps.

    http://maptools.org/fgs/

    David.


Comments are currently closed.

