28
Dec
06

I’m so freaking sick of GIS User

OK, I’m heading over the deep end here, but what the heck. Glenn Letham has driven me over the edge. The reasons are below:

  1. Anygeo.com – why must you use a “url gripper”? I type in http://www.anygeo.com and then you steal the address bar from my browser. No matter where I click on your blog, your address sticks. I can’t tell you how annoying this this. You claim to be a “blogging pro” so why not act like one? Get a real url and a real blogging tool.
  2. Comment moderation? Are you kidding me? I tried to post a comments in the past on your blog and they never show up (probably because I’m not drinking your kool-aid).
  3. Enough with Guy Kawasaki already. He is smart and his blog is slick. Your blog is neither. (oh and Guy doesn’t moderate comments loser)
  4. Stop being a PR prostitute. Every time someone posts a PR you toss it into Digg like it is news. Stop it, we are not stupid. This comment on APB is typical, “interesting how everyone else on the planet was asked not to mention anything about this and to keep it hush until January… apparently you guys are the exception to the rule for some reason… nice! I’m sure Leica is thrilled with the fact that you’ve taken the lid off on this one… personally I tend to listen to requests from companies regarding embargos etc…” God I just want to punch you!
  5. Stop being a troll on All Points Blog. Comments like “Actually, any blog that is serving up Google ads (ie. pretty much 98% of the blogs out there) is commercially funded.” Don’t you have anything better to do than pretend you are better than APB? Every comment I’ve seen by you on APB is troll.
  6. Your attitude on the whole “Free DRG” project. I understand you have some history with data downloads, fine. But why do you have to be a jerk about it all? I find it humorous that after the project got online you never posted a comment about it. Oh that’s right, you have your “Free GIS Data & Imagery Geoblog” which has ads so you can make money. Blogger is free Glenn, so why do you feel like you need to make money on other peoples work? It isn’t like you’ve updated it with any regularity.
  7. I get it, you’ve moved to Fort Collins. Thanks for the hourly updates.
  8. GISUser.com – what a complete mess. How they heck can you find anything there. Newbies find your site that is fine, but most people outgrow this marketing crap. Can you find any more room to throw up an advertisement? Looks like Vegas. No, strike that, looks like Atlantic City.

Glenn, as you said in your little GIS User “article”…

“A great blog in my mind may “suck” to you!”

You got that right, your blog and your website suck.

10 Responses to “I’m so freaking sick of GIS User”


  1. 1 anon
    December 28, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    Classic fun!

    Glenn has been a little annoying lately. Not sure if it is the thin air in Colorado or not….

  2. 2 Anon
    December 28, 2006 at 4:31 pm

    You may have some valid points – but you need to chill. You are one angry dork.

  3. December 28, 2006 at 5:15 pm

    Hey its my blog so I can write about what I wish. If you don’t like it start your own blog and write a post about me.

  4. 4 Lance
    December 28, 2006 at 5:19 pm

    of course one could respond, if you don’t like it, don’t read his blog. *shrug*

  5. December 28, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    I don’t buy that argument. If it was as simple as deleting Glenn out of my RSS aggregator I’d be free. But he’s trolling at APB so I have to put up with it there (and elsewhere). My default homepage is Planet Geospatial so it shows up there.

  6. 6 Michael Douglas
    December 28, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    GISPro, you seem to have some issues to work out huh?

    1. If you wish to remove any blog from Planet Geospatial (this doesn’t work for RSS feeds) all you have to use it the Planet Geospatial Scrubber.

    http://zcologia.com/news/163

    2. Glenn’s blog hasn’t been in PlanetGS for quite some time. I don’t know why James removed it, but I assume it has to do with blogger.

    3. I too don’t agree with the “if you don’t like it then don’t read it” mantra. Life ain’t that simple.

    4. I would have added Blogger to your list. Glenn should move off of blogger if he wants to be taken seriously.

  7. 7 Jordan
    December 28, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    Actually, Anygeo is no longer at PlanetGS, not sure why. And, I appreciate that you pointed out Glenn’s trolling at APB. I wonder why they don’t delete his comments?

  8. March 13, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    hey dude,
    I just saw this.. shows you how much I care about your little blog! Anyway, you are welcome to your opinions but man, you are a whinney, kiss-ass cry baby dude.. you need to chill.. not sure why you care so much about what I do and why you worry so much about what on or not on my blog. My blog is simple fun and for posting my opinions.. don’t like it.. kiss my ass and go somewhere else. GISuser, however, is a reputable and professional publication.. don’t like it??? who cares what you think man.. until you grow some balls and actually put your name on your publication go ahead and keep ranting althouh nobody will take you seriously (hey nice kiss-assing to James too!) maybe that keeps you listed in planetGS although I can’t really see any other reason why your little rag should get listed there. Feel free to continue this conversation with me in person over a beer at the ESRI UC if your boss decides to give you a few days off to attend!

  9. 9 GlennSucks
    March 15, 2007 at 12:17 am

    You go man! Glenn sucks.

    Someone should point Glenn to Jacob Nielsen’s usability site (http://www.useit.com/) because every site he has ever touched sucks, difficult to navigate, to much crap flashing (so 90’s), tons of ads.

    Oh yah Glenn we could careless that you are not intelligent enough to figure out how to connect your router to your cable provider. Get a life!


Comments are currently closed.

