24
Feb
07

The Power of Planet Geospatial

I never knew how much traffic was generated by Planet Geospatial until I was not in it anymore. Sure I could see the traffic in my logs, but now that I’m back in it is simply amazing (for such a small blog it is a big deal). This got me thinking though…

  1. Should James be the gatekeeper of GIS blogs? He’s done a great job but the power that he has over who is in or isn’t in PGS is something that I’m not sure one person should have. I suppose someone would have to run the thing, but I guess how did he become the controlling force.
  2. Even blogs that have outgrown Planet GS owe most of their existance to Planet GS in the first place. I have loads of blogs in my RSS reader, but I can’t think of many that I found outside of Planet GS. I use “The Earth is Square” as a good example. It is a flurishing blog that has outgrown the need for PlanetGS, but I’m sure most of us learned of it from James.
  3. I’ve noticed links to blogs show up in sites such as Ogle Earth right after they appear in Planet GS. I can’t recall the blog offhand, but litteraly an hour after it first appeared in Planet GS Stefan had a link to it. Now of course there isn’t anything wrong with it, but if big bloggers such as Stefan use PGS as their source it leads us back to my first point, James is the gatekeeper.
  4. Our own reliance on Planet GS is unhealthy. As far as I can tell, James doesn’t take donations, and he’s removed his ads from his blog (after receiving that MacBook I guess). That means he’s funding the site personally. I know this stuff isn’t that expensive, but given how many blogs show up in Planet GS I have to think he’s putting hours into it a week. One day he’ll grow tired of it all and PGS will stop working or just disappear. Are we all ready for that?

Now I’m not saying that I don’t appreciate James and his work (check my blog posts if you don’t believe me), but have we gotten to the point where we wait for James to point us to a new GIS blog?

I guess so.

2 Responses to “The Power of Planet Geospatial”


  1. February 27, 2007 at 2:45 am

    If planet geospatial is driving so much traffic to your site, why aren’t there any comments on this post? Seems like this topic would spur some conversation.

  2. February 28, 2007 at 3:16 am

    I can only say that the logs show a different story. *shurg* Does anyone really comment that much on these blogs anyway, at least on blogs other than James Fee’s?


Comments are currently closed.

