02
May
07

Random Junk while working late…

  • I mean there are ads in blogs and then there are blogs that are designed to make money. I like the concept of Free GeoTools, but it looks like a swapmeet with all those ads on there. You are using Blogger for pete’s sake, it isn’t like there are any hosting costs.
  • My hats off to Google Earth Blog though. I’ll wager that Frank is pulling in the most money of any blogger out there with how his site is designed. If you bloggers out there want to make money, I’d hire Frank in a heartbeat to get your blog optimized for that revenue.
  • I used to listen to the Very Spatial podcast religiously, but now I can’t seem to bother anymore. It isn’t the crew from WV’s fault though, I’ve unsubscribed from every podcast that isn’t music. I think I like to escape from GIS by putting my iPod on.
  • What’s with the 24/7 coverage AllPointsBlog is offering on the Bentley Geospatial Conference. Yea my company spends millions on Bentley products so I get they are big, but anyone want to wager what their FOSS4G coverage will include? Probably pretty light if you ask me.
  • Charlie Savage on GML – Spot on! GML is like that friends dog that kept trying to hump your leg when you visited their house. You try and avoid it at all costs, but it keeps jumping on you. Your only relief is when the thing gets run over by Grandma.
  • Our ESRI Maintenance quote showed up today in my email (well last week but I finally got to it). All I did is drag it to the trash. QGIS, PostGIS, GeoServer and GRASS will rescue anyone caught in that ESRI trap. Now I’ve got thousands of dollars of budget to spend on something fun. Maybe massage chairs for the GIS crew?
  • Oh ArcGIS Explorer? Download, install, run, crash, uninstall. All in about 5 minutes.
  • Lastly, Sean has been on a blogging roll. One of the A-list GIS bloggers if you ask me.
4 Responses to “Random Junk while working late…”


  1. May 2, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Yup, that’s my blog. Yes, hosting is free, although after finding out the layout limitations of Blogger, that’s not all that much of a plus. That’s a major reason the layout looks as poor as it does, especially compared to Google Earth Blog. But my time isn’t free; some of my posts are done quickly, but a lot of them take a fair amount of time to put together. People are free to ignore the ads, and just read the content; you’re the only one who’s ever complained. I’ve also gotten some fairly nice compliments, including some from people your blog would suggest you think highly of.

    For that matter, I’m not really happy about all the ads I have on my site, either. So, a while back, I put in a request for donations, saying that I’d be happy to cut back on the ads if I got even a trivially modest response; I got two responses out of the 17,000 unique visitors I had last month. I’ll try again shortly with the same request, and the same offer. You like the concept, but don’t like the ads? Put your money where your mouth is; but even if you don’t, you’re still welcome at my blog. I don’t believe it’s a sin against nature for people to make money off their blogs, especially if they put time and effort into it, and post material that people find useful.

    You might also take a look at some of the most popular blogs in other subject areas like politics (talkingpointsmemo.com, atrios.blogspot.com, digbysblog.blogspot.com), and then tell me mine has an excessive number of ads :).

    Frank has done a great job with Google Earth Blog, and he’s also been gracious enough to recommend my blog and give me some advice. But he has the advantage of a two-and-a-half year head start, a lot more experience in running and designing his blog, and a naturally larger audience for his material than I have for mine. Give me some time, (and cut me some slack), and perhaps in a couple of years my blog might look almost as good as his does now; I’d settle for a lot better than it currently is.

    You speak very highly of Frank’s Google Earth Blog, and rightly so. Does this mean that you no longer think of him as “the local Google Earth Blog prostitute” who “continues to troll on other blogs spouting the virtues of Google Earth” (from your 2/28 post)? I hope so.

  2. May 2, 2007 at 6:56 am

    OK, this isn’t a fair comment (I don’t think it’s been posted anywhere yet) but Adena is slated to do the closing plenary address at FOSS4G, so we’re hoping that their coverage of this event will be pretty good 🙂

    Jason

  3. May 2, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I don’t believe it’s a sin against nature for people to make money off their blogs, especially if they put time and effort into it, and post material that people find useful.

    That is fine, you have the right. I don’t think it is a sin against nature to call your blog ugly for all those ads either.

  4. May 2, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    OK, fair enough. For now, I’m going to concentrate on content rather than “beauty”. At some point that’ll probably change, and I’ll keep your comments in mind.


Comments are currently closed.

