14
May
07

ESRI User Conference News

I don’t follow the ESRI UC that much anymore since my little department has gone total open source, but since I do work in a HUGE company I still hear some ESRI news. This little tidbit came over via an email list.

I just talked to James Fee (of http://www.spatiallyadjusted.com fame) and he says he isn’t going to the ESRI UC this year in San Diego. Big loss for all of us wanting to hear the latest ESRI news.

Interesting as one would think they’d want him out there to push the cult of ESRI upon all of us. I mean at least his take is funny if not informative compared to the GISUser filth we end up having to read.

7 Responses to “ESRI User Conference News”


  1. 1 Lefty
    May 14, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    I’m not surprised he’s not going. He pretty much told me so at the Dev Summit. Beyond spending a week of vacation in San Diego, the UC is just about worthless for anybody but newbies.

    Still your point about the news is well founded. I can’t bear to think about the poor reporting that will come out of the UC this year.

  2. May 14, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Still you have to wonder if the “ESRI Blogger” is not going, is there something else going on underneath the surface? His WWJ/GeoServer post this morning has an interesting rollover on the image. I wonder if he’s beginning to see the light?

  3. 3 Daniel
    May 14, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    That is a shame, I always have had a blast with him at the UC. I will say this, he never met a drink he didn’t turn down. 😉

  4. May 15, 2007 at 1:17 am

    And this is news because? 😐

  5. 5 GeoMullah
    May 15, 2007 at 2:12 am

    Yeah, the UC reporting will suck. If it’s like any other geospatial conference this year it should suck.

  6. May 15, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Even without James you could still hold out for Bouwman or CitroP for advanced thoughts on the GIS World, don’t know if either of them are planning on being there.

  7. June 9, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    I’m planning on going… Not sure if I will even have time to blog about it, though..


Comments are currently closed.

