06
Nov
07

Movement toward Open Source

I see I was right about James.  He’s dumping ESRI and moving forward with open source. I guess all that bitching about ArcGIS not supporting OGC last week had a point.Look, I’ve been using ArcInfo since before time and I know many GIS folks in my area. They all to a man (or woman) say they are fed up with ESRI. The problem is they all think there is no other solution out there. If consultants start showing these folks what FOSS can do, I think the dominos will start falling and we could be on the cusp of a revolution in GIS (well to be fair the revolution is already happening, just traditional GIS folk don’t know about it).

I don’<p>t even know what Che did anymore, just that his picture is the #1 Google Image Search for Revolution.

Viva La Revolución

1 Response to “Movement toward Open Source”


  1. November 6, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Careful what you wish for. When the revolution comes, the first people against the wall are the pundits.


Leave a Reply

