06
Mar
07

OSGeo demands removal of the OSGeo themed thong

I subscribe to the comments at James Fee’s blog because some of the best discussion in the GIS world takes place there. Well today the news is that OSGeo told James to remove the graphic of the thong with the OSGeo logo on it.

Actually OSGeo was offended. They asked nicely so I complied. That is all I’m going to say about it.

I’m surprised for a couple reasons.

  1. James has been one of the most prolific bloggers on OSGeo (in fact I learned of Mapserver from him which I’ve since replaced ArcIMS at our company with)
  2. James makes fun of everyone. Some of the folks I know get the biggest kick out of James’ ESRI bashing posts are open source folks. If ESRI can deal with their logo being put on weird stuff by James, you’d think OSGeo could.
  3. That James actually complied. I’m a little disappointed he did so, but I’m sure he had his reasons.

But lucky for us, the OSGeo Thong is cached in all our browsers and RSS readers.


2 Responses to “OSGeo demands removal of the OSGeo themed thong”


  1. 1 anon
    March 6, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    I’ve saved a copy to my hard drive also to make sure that someone has a copy of this. The hell with OSGeo telling people what they can blog.

  2. March 6, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    OSGeo didn’t demand that I remove the picture, just that I think about how it reflects upon all the hard work. It might be best if we just let this go. It isn’t a battle that any of us needs to fight.


Comments are currently closed.